Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling crowned 2021 Tour Series champions


Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling held on to their overall lead despite stiff opposition from defending men’s champions Canyon dhb SunGod, whose dominant performance took them to within one point of retaining their title. They did, however, enjoy success in the form of the individual race win for Charlie Tanfield. The victory was Tanfield’s first since competing at the Tokyo Olympic Games.

In the men’s competition it was Guisborough race winner Matt Gibson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) who took the sprints jersey, a competition he also won in the 2018 Tour Series. Gibson’s performance in the Castle Douglas round was key to Ribble Weldtite retaining their Freewheel.co.uk yellow jerseys, with the Warrington-born rider the only member of his five-rider team to make the front group that had been driven away by Canyon dhb SunGod.

Having had their chances of a historic hat-trick of Tour Series titles damaged by losing a pair of riders to a crash in round 1, Canyon dhb SunGod knew that they needed to put significant distance and other teams between themselves and Ribble Weldtite on the night.

Strong performances from the Wales Racing Academy and Crimson Orientation Marketing RT nearly helped them achieve that. But ultimately the efforts of Gibson, Charles Page, Freddie Scheske, Cameron Jeffers and Will Brown was enough for Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling to claim their first Tour Series title.

Source: www.tourseries.co.uk